Exceeding Expectations and Standing Out as an Intern

AndrewPortrait2015_resized (1)

By Andrew Zysk, BS in Computer Science, GWU ’17

Last summer, I worked as an intern for Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG), a diversified energy company headquartered in Newark, New Jersey. PSEG is the largest provider of electric and gas in the state of New Jersey.

When I was applying to internships during my sophomore year, I didn’t have any specific industries or roles in mind. I applied to the IT department at PSEG, as that would apply my computer science background the best.

The internship program of around 100 college students exists across most departments. I met a diverse set of interns and our intern lunch group got along well. We still keep in touch.

I worked as an intern in application project management. In other words, I was in the group that delivers software applications to the business, and our team was responsible for documentation, and for making sure that key project resources were in the right place at the right time.

When most Computer Science students think of a typical job, they might think about writing and testing code. In a large company like PSEG, that is only one part of the system. I enjoyed having the perspective of a project manager, because it shows a different, but equally important side from what we learn in our technical coursework.

My internship experience exceeded my expectations. I was always given real work, and my manager made sure I had the chance to work with everyone on the team. I was welcome to ask questions and make suggestions as someone who was “on the outside looking in” during project meetings. The opportunities to ask good questions, be engaged, and bring a positive attitude allowed me to distinguish myself.

This was my first internship. I experienced what it’s like to work for an important company, and what sort of skills are really demanded in that environment. The people in charge of the internship program really express its importance, and their interest in the interns to return.

Last spring, when I was pulling out all the stops to land an internship, PSEG was one of the few who called back. I am very grateful for that. If anyone is in a similar situation that I was, particularly those from NJ, or if you are just looking for a great place to apply, I recommend PSEG. If you are interested, please don’t hesitate to contact me if you want to learn more about it.

Leave a Reply

