Make it Happen!

vball

Alexis Lete
Bachelor of Arts in Communication
Minor in Journalism
(Expected 2018)

I’ve been raised to have a go-getter, competitive attitude my entire life.  To me, winning was everything and it still is. Both of my parents played sports in college.  Throughout elementary school and middle school I competed in nearly every sport imaginable.  When I got to high school the time demands were greater for each sport and I had to narrow down my extra-curricular activities.  I chose to stick with swimming and volleyball, which is what I play here at GW.

These two sports changed my life, not only because of the physical endeavors that I went through, but because of the dedicated, vivacious coaches that invested time and effort in me.  My coaches guided me on and off the court to help me develop as a person, not only as a player.  These coaches are the same people that told me I suck, I’m the reason the team lost and told me to get out of practice. I’ve had coaches throw things at me, punish me until I collapsed, break me down mentally until I cried, and walk out on me after a bad performance.  And let me just tell you letting someone down that believes in you, sometimes more than you believe in yourself, is a gut-wrenching feeling.  You know that feeling when you hear about a tragedy and your heart sinks into your stomach, everything stops, and you can’t breathe for a second?  That one.

Failures and let downs were the greatest learning opportunities of my life.  I used them as fuel.  After I had let a coach or teammate down one time, I refused to let it happen again.  I persistently worked harder than anyone else, in the gym or in the pool.  I wanted to gain respect.  My efforts and perseverance were recognized.  My coaches and teammates were awed by my resilience.  I ended up becoming the captain of both my swim team and volleyball team.

These qualities of dedication, resilience and respect are ones that I carry over into school and the work force.  I want to become a sports broadcaster and eventually a host of some type of game show.  The sports broadcasting field is one of the most competitive job fields there is because so many people want to be in it, but there are so few jobs available.  Am I worried about whether I’ll have a job after college? Heck no!

I knew it was a competitive male-dominated field coming in to college and I have been doing everything I can to prepare myself.  From the start of the school year, I was determined to get ahead of the pack.  I told myself I would do the crap work now so that by the time I became a senior I would be respected in my field.  While enacting on my plan to get ahead, I took full advantage of the resources here at GW.  The Center for Career Services and GWork  became places I commonly visited.

I met with people in Career Services who helped me with my resume and LinkedIn account. The Career Coaches advised me to join student organizations and gave me different contacts to whom I could reach out.  So I did. I became a member of WRGW and GW-TV. I attended nearly every networking and informational event that was posted in GWork.  If I would give advice to anyone at GW, it would be to use these resources as much as possible.  I learned about everything from my personal strengths to different ways to go about getting an internship.  The knowledge and advice I gained in these experiences have lead to a successful start.  I may fail a few times on my way to success, but I refuse to let down those coaches, parents, and teachers who believe I can do anything I set my mind to.  I already had a game-day sports marketing internship here on campus over the winter and have two more internships lined up for this summer.

I’m competitive.  The grind, dedication, resilience and later respect comes along with how bad I want it.  As one of my hard-headed coaches said to me, “If you want something bad enough, you’ll make it happen.”  I encourage you to remember this quote, use your resources to help you along the way, and in the end make it happen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

